Review

Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver Review

Delirium

Plot Outline

Love is a disease and it must be cured. Lena is waiting to be cured of the disease but when she meets Alex everything changes.

My Opinion 

I found the idea of love being a disease really interesting and the idea was really well thought out. For the majority of the book, I liked the main character although at times she could be annoying as she was really indecisive. I found the relationship between Alex and Lena to be a bit instalove and I would have preferred to see more relationship development rather than the two characters instantly falling for one another. I found that there were quite a few similarities to other dystopian novels. The ending was quite shocking and I thought it was quite a big cliffhanger and I couldn’t wait to read the next book.

Pandemonium

Plot Outline

Lena has escaped and she has met new people but she needs to learn to live without Alex.

My Opinion 

This book was set out differently to Delirium. In this book, we have ‘then’ and ‘now’ chapters. We get to see how Lena made it to the Wilds and we get to see her working for the resistance. This layout took awhile to get used to but I ended up really enjoying. Usually, when it comes to trilogies I don’t like the second book but I thought this was as good as the first book. There were many aspects of this book that were really predictable especially one thing that happened which is clearly meant to be shocking.

Requiem

Plot Outline

Lena is now part of the revolution and The Wilds are no longer safe for her and her friends. The government is trying to put a stop to the rebellion. Lena’s friend Hana is still living in the place Lena escaped from and she is engaged to the Mayor’s son.

My Opinion 

In this book, we get both Lena’s and Hana’s perspective. I enjoyed seeing both characters POV. I did find it strange that we got Hana’s POV at first because we hadn’t seen her since the first book so it felt strange to be back with her. Oliver entwined Lena and Hana’s story really well and she showed that friendship still exists even when people have been separated. From the start of this book, I was hooked as I couldn’t wait to see what was going to happen and I was curious as to how Oliver was going to wrap up the series. I was left really disappointed by the ending. The story just tailed off towards the end and I don’t feel that we got a proper conclusion. There was a lot of build up to a dramatic ending but we didn’t get anything. I would have liked to have seen an epilogue to see what the characters were doing a few years later as there were so many questions that were left unanswered. If Goodreads allowed half stars I would have given this a 3.5 as I don’t think that it was as good as the first two books but I don’t feel that it is a 3-star book either.

4 Stars

Overall I did enjoy this trilogy but I did feel that the ending was disappointing. I would probably give the trilogy an overall rating of 3.5 stars as the last book really let it down for me. If you like dystopian novels then I would recommend that you check this trilogy out.

Kirsty xoxo

4 thoughts on “Delirium Trilogy by Lauren Oliver Review

Leave a Reply

