Review

Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie Review

Matched

Plot Outline 

Cassia’s future is decided for her by the Society. The Society make all the rules, they decide who you love, where you work and when you die. Cassia is Matched with her best friend Xander but when she goes to watch his video another face appears. Cassia must make a choice between Xander and Ky. Should she stick with what she knows and what is expected or follow a new unplanned path.

My Opinion

I found the world in this book really interesting. At the time, I hadn’t read The Giver by Lois Lowry but now I have and I can see many similarities to that book in this series.  I thought that there were parts of the story that were really predictable and the plot was similar to other dystopian novels. I wasn’t a fan of the love triangle in this series. I thought Xander and Ky were too similar and I found Cassia’s indecision over them really boring. At the start of the book, I found Cassia’s character annoying and very immature but I thought her character developed a lot throughout the book. By the end of the book, Cassia had developed a strong voice and she seemed a much stronger character than she had at the start of the book. The ending was left open for the next book which was annoying at the time as I didn’t have the next book so I had to wait to get my hands on it and continue on with the story.

Crossed

Plot Outline 

This book follows Cassia and her involvement with the rebellion against the Society. Ky managed to escape so Cassia goes out to try and find him.

My Opinion

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I liked the first one. At the start, I found the story to be fast paced and the plot was interesting. In this book we got two perspectives; Ky’s and Cassia’s. When they were separated I really like the dual perspective but once they had been reunited I thought it was unnecessary. When Cassia and Ky were reunited the pace of story really slowed down and I found that the story became really boring. The pacing picked up towards the end and the story did get more interesting. I found the love triangle in this book even more than I did in the first book.  The whole point of the book was for Cassia to find Ky but the entire book she was questioning her feelings for him and kept thinking about Xander. I found the love triangle annoying and I don’t think it was needed.

Reached

Plot Outline 

Cassia and Ky have found the Rising but they become separated again when the Rising assigns them different tasks.

My Opinion

I thought that this was a good conclusion to the series and I liked it a lot more than Crossed. I found the pacing to be a lot better in this book and I didn’t want to put the book down as I wanted to find out what was going to happen. At times, I found the story a little bit confusing especially the descriptions of the Plague. I found that the explanations about the Plague were quite scientific and I found them quite confusing as I know very little about science. The Rising took over the Society and I was expecting this to be a lengthy process and a main focus for the book. The takeover happened very quickly and I was a little disappointed as I was expecting a bit more from this part of the story. I was satisfied with the ending to this series as I think everything was wrapped up well.

Overall I would probably give this series a 3.5. I enjoyed it but it isn’t a favourite for me and I do think that there are a lot of similarities to other dystopian novels.

Have you read this series? What did you think of it?

Kirsty xoxo

6 thoughts on “Matched Trilogy by Ally Condie Review

Leave a Reply

