Top 10 Tuesdays

Top 10 Tuesday: Books for Contemporary Fans

This week’s Top 10 Tuesday topic is Ten Books Every X Should Read. We got to choose this week and I decided to talk about books that I think you should read if you love contemporary books as this is one of my favourite genres. This would also be a good place to start if you want to start reading more from the genre. I have chosen quite a range of books, some are really popular and others I have never heard anyone talk about. If you have any contemporary recommendations then let me know as I always love finding new books.

I've Got Your Number

I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella- I love this book by Sophie Kinsella it is one of my favourites. This book was so funny and I loved the relationship between Poppy and Sam.

Fangirl

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell – I loved this book, Cath and Levi’s relationship was so sweet and realistic.

Wedding Night

Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella – Another Sophie Kinsella book, she is one of my favourite authors. This was a great summery read and I loved the characters and  the dual perspective.

Anna and the French KissAnna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins- I loved this story, the relationship between Anna and Etienne was so sweet. It was so great to see this relationship develop plus it was set in Paris which was pretty cool.

Just Listen

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen– This is one of my favourite Sarah Dessen books. I loved the relationship between Annabelle and Owen and I thought it dealt with some difficult topics really well.

Me Before You

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes- This was such an emotional read but I highly recommend it. The relationship between the two main characters slowly developed and it was really enjoyable to read about their relationship. The film is coming out this year and from the trailer it looks as if it is going to be really good.

Little Lies

Little Lies by Liane Moriarty- I love Liane Moriarty’s books, I think she creates really realistic characters and realistic settings. All of her books have a mystery to them and I think the mystery is really well written and it always keeps me hooked.

A Walk in the Park

A Walk in the Park by Jill Mansell- I really enjoy Jill Mansell books. They are all standalones which I really enjoy. This story follows Lara who moves back to her hometown and she meets one of her exes. I really liked the relationships in this book.

Chocolate Shoes and Wedding Blues

Chocolate Shoes and Wedding Blues by Trisha Ashley- I love Trisha Ashley’s books as the majority of them are set in a little village and I really enjoy reading about village life. This follows Tansy who inherits a shop and she turns it into a wedding shoe shop.

The Personal Shopper

The Personal Shopper by Carmen Reid- I love books about shopping. This is similar to the Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella which I also love. This story follows Annie who works as a personal shopper (I would love this job). Annie is a single mum and it follows her trying to find a boyfriend.

I love all of these books but if I had to narrow it down to my top 3 it would be: I’ve Got Your Number, Fangirl and Little Lies.

What are your favourite contemporaries?

Kirsty xoxo

 

 

One thought on “Top 10 Tuesday: Books for Contemporary Fans

Leave a Reply

