Review

Little Bones by Janette Jenkins Review

Little Bones

Plot Outline 

This is a historical fiction novel set in 1899 in London. The novel follows Jane who is a cripple and has been abandoned by her family. Jane is taken in by a doctor and his wife. Jane helps the doctor who carries out abortions on young actresses. When someone ends up dead the police begin to investigate and the doctor and Jane are under suspicion.

My Opinion 

I thought this book was pretty good. It took me awhile to get into as it switches between past and present. Once I got used to this I enjoyed reading about Jane’s past and seeing what her family was like. I found in parts this book was quite slow as the author chose to focus on things that I didn’t think added much to the plot. When Jane was younger a lady called Lisa used to tell her stories about India. The author seemed to make a big point of this and kept retelling the stories but I don’t think that this added anything to the plot. I thought the portrayal of Victorian London seemed very realistic and also the way that cripples would have been treated at the time seemed very accurate. I didn’t particularly like the descriptions of the abortions as I thought that they were a little too graphic for me. The ending was very surprised and the doctor’s actions really shocked me as I thought that he cared about Jane. Overall I enjoyed this story but I did find it took me awhile to get into which is why I gave it 3 stars. Although it was a bit slow to start with this was a very quick read for me.

3 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

One thought on “Little Bones by Janette Jenkins Review

Leave a Reply

