Review

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Beautiful Creatures

Plot Outline

Ethan has lived in Gatlin all his live. Gatlin is a small town in the south of America where nothing ever happens. Ethan has been having weird dreams about a girl and when Lena Duchannes moves to Gatlin Ethan is shocked to see that she is the girl from his dreams. Lena is a mysterious character and Ethan is drawn to her and he soon discovers that she is hiding a secret.

My Opinion 

I did not enjoy this book. I found the pacing to be really slow and nothing really happened for the majority of the book. The pacing picked up towards the end as more action was taking place. This book was really long and I thought that the story was dragged out and could have easily been shorter. This is the first book in a series and the ending does leave the story open for the next book but I really think that this could have been just one book. I have no idea what the authors plan to do with the story over the next 3 books. I thought that the plot wasn’t that original and seemed similar to other books that I have read. This book was written from Ethan’s perspective which is unusual as a majority of YA books are told from a female character’s POV. I didn’t like the character of Ethan as I didn’t think that he was very realistic. The story may have worked better from Lena’s POV but I am not sure as I didn’t like her much either. I won’t be continuing with this series as I really did not enjoy this book and I really had to push myself to finish it. I tried to watch the film but I only managed to watch about 15 minutes before giving in. This series seems to be an either love or hate series and unfortunately, I did not enjoy it.

 

2 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Leave a Reply

