Review

The Iron Witch Trilogy by Karen Mahone Review

The Iron Witch

The Iron Witch by Karen Mahoney 

Plot Outline

When Donna was younger her father was killed by the fey and they drove her mother mad. Donna was saved by magic and now has iron tattoos all over her arms and hands. Donna is part of the alchemists. The evil wood elves kidnap Donna’s best friend and she must help to rescue him. She meets Xan who is half fey and together they will try to get Navin back.

My Opinion

I found this book to be really similar to other YA series and I didn’t really enjoy it. This seemed to have many of the tropes that are written about in YA; an orphan, a girl who must save the world, the best friend who is in love with her and a new mysterious guy. I found the plot to be very predictable as a result of the similarities to other series. The relationship between Donna and Xan seemed very rushed and I really didn’t like it. Donna barely knew Xan but she seemed to instantly fall in love with him. I liked some of the ideas that the author had, I found the world that she created really interesting. I thought the execution let it down, though, I would have liked to have seen more world building as I felt that the world wasn’t very well developed.

 

The Wood Queen

Plot Outline

At the end of the last book Donna destroyed the elixir of life and now she has to face the consequences. The Wood Queen was tricked and she is not happy and a war is very likely.

My Opinion

I found this book to be much slower than the first one. I found the plot dragged quite a bit as a large part of the book was dedicated to finding out what Donna’s punishment was going to be. Her punishment didn’t seem that severe considering what she had done. This book like the first seemed to follow the usual YA tropes and I found this a bit tedious to read. The book ended on a cliffhanger so I wanted to read the last book in order to find out what was going to happen.

The Stone Demon

Plot Outline

Donna opened the door to the demon world after being tricked by the Wood Queen and now demons are flooding into her world. The demons want the philosopher’s stone and Donna is sent to London to learn how to recreate it.

My Opinion

I liked this book more than I did the first two. I thought that this book was had a much faster pace. The book still contained some YA cliches but it didn’t feel as formulaic as the first two books. In the first two books, it felt like the author had a checklist of YA cliches and she wanted to make sure she included them all. Despite liking this book more this is not one of my favourite series and I wouldn’t really recommend it. I think this could easily have just been one book as I felt that that the story was unnecessarily dragged out.

Kirsty xoxo

One thought on “The Iron Witch Trilogy by Karen Mahone Review

Leave a Reply

