Little Lies by Liane Moriarty Review

Little Lies

Plot Outline

This story follows the lives of three women who are mothers to children in the same kindergarten. There is Madeline whose ex-husband has moved to the area with his new wife and daughter who is at the same kindergarten as Madeline’s youngest daughter. Madeline’s oldest daughter is spending more and more time with her father and wants to move in with him instead of living with Madeline. Celeste seems to have a perfect life, she has two beautiful twin boys and a loving husband. However, looks can  be deceptive and Celeste is actually hiding a dark secret. New to the town is single mother Jane who is hiding her own secret.

My Opinions

Right from the start we know that someone  died at the quiz night as people are being questioned about the event. The story then goes back to the past to talk about the build up to the event. The book follows all three of the women’s lives and we get to see how the stories weave together. I think that Liane Moriarty is really good at weaving stories together and is good at creating a mystery. I was hooked from the start of this book and I couldn’t put it down as I wanted to know what was going to happen. I think Liane Moriarty covers difficult issues really well, in this book she looked at domestic abuse and bullying. I think she handles difficult situations really well and makes them seem realistic. All of the characters in this book seemed realistic and this is one thing I really like about Moriarty’s writing is her ability to create believable characters. The build-up to the big reveal was done really well and I was surprised by the ending although there were some parts that were a bit predictable. Overall I really loved this book and I highly recommend checking Liane Moriarty’s books out as I have loved ever one that I have read.

Also, there is some exciting news surrounding this book. HBO is turning it into a TV miniseries and I believe it is going to be 8 episodes. The series has got quite a few big names in the cast including Nicole Kidman, Resse Witherspoon, Shailene Woodley, Alexander Skarsgard and James Tupper. I am really excited to see this show as I think it will work really well as a TV show. I don’t know when it is going to be out but hopefully, we won’t have too long to wait.

5 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

5 thoughts on “Little Lies by Liane Moriarty Review

Leave a Reply

