Review

The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare Review

Today I thought I would do a review of the Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare. I really loved this series and I wanted to share my thoughts on it. This post will contain spoilers so if you haven’t read the books beware that you may get spoiled if you read this post.

Clockwork Angel

Clockwork Angel

Clockwork Angel is set in London in 1878. The story starts with Tessa Gray who moves from New York to London to meet her brother. When she arrives she is intercepted by the Dark Sisters who kidnap her and train her to use a unique power that she has. Tessa has the ability to change her appearance to look like other people. She is saved by Shadowhunters Will and Jem. She is then pulled into the Shadowhunter world and they begin to investigate the Pandemonium Club. They soon find out that they are up against an army of clockwork creatures.

I really enjoyed this book. I liked the characters in this book, I really liked the character of Tessa. Tessa is a really strong character and very different from Clary which I really liked. I like Clary but I was concerned when I started this series that the characters were just going to be the same but I am glad that they were different. I loved all the characters in this book, I especially liked Will who had some really funny lines. I loved the setting, I really enjoy reading books set in Victorian London and I thought that Cassandra Clare wrote about it really well. I thought that this was an excellent start to the series and after I finished it I couldn’t wait to start the next book.

Clockwork Prince

Clockwork Prince 

This book picks up where Clockwork Angel finished. The Clave are planning on replacing Charlotte as the head of the institute which means Tessa may end up without a home. The Magister is still after Tessa as he wants to use Tessa’s power. Tessa discovers that she has feelings for both Will and Jem.

In this book, we got to see more of the love triangle. Usually, I am not a fan of love triangles but this has to be the best one ever written. I love both Will and Jem and I really couldn’t decide who I wanted Tessa to be with as I love them both so much. Jessamine’s betrayal came as a huge surprise to me and I couldn’t believe that she had done that.

 

Clockwork Princess

Clockwork Princess 

In this book, Mortmain wants to use his clockwork army to destroy the Shadowhunters. He still needs Tessa’s power to do this. Tessa and Jem get engaged but the happiness is short-lived when Tessa is kidnapped. Jem and Will seek to rescue Tessa but  Jem’s illness takes a turn for the worse.

This was a fantastic end to the trilogy. This book made me feel so many emotions it was crazy; one minute I would be really happy and then the next I’d be really sad. What happened to Jem was heartbreaking and I was not expecting him to become a Silent Brother. I was happy with how Cassandra Clare ended this series as the characters got a happy ending.

5 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

14 thoughts on “The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare Review

Leave a Reply

