Review

Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Finding Audrey

Plot Outline

This book follows Audrey a teenager with an anxiety disorder. Audrey struggles with going out and looking at people so she wears sunglasses to avoid making eye contact. She meets Linus her brother’s friend. She and Linus get on really well and Audrey finds that she is able to talk to him. She discovers that she has a connection with Linus and a relationship develops.

My Opinion

I am a huge fan of Sophie Kinsella and when I found out that she was writing a YA novel I knew that I had to read it. There are very few books that deal with anxiety so I was interested to see how Kinsella would deal with it. I thought that she dealt with the anxiety really well and I thought that the characters she created were very realistic. Despite writing about a serious topic, Kinsella managed to write in some really funny moments. I found Audrey’s mum and Frank’s arguments really funny. I really liked Audrey and Linus’ relationship and I thought that it was really sweet. I thought that the story wrapped up a little too conveniently. Audrey recovered at the end which although was a nice ending, I don’t think that it is completely realistic. ¬†Kinsella did emphasise that recovery takes awhile but the ending was just too perfect but I understand why she chose to end it that way. Overall I really enjoyed this book and I hope that Kinsella writes more YA novels as I would love to read more from her.

4 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

3 thoughts on “Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Leave a Reply

