Review

The Mortal Instruments Books 1-3 by Cassandra Clare Review

Today I am going to be sharing my thoughts on the first three books in the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare. This review may have spoilers for City of Bones, City of Ashes and City of Glass.

I’d had the first book on my shelf for quite awhile before I started reading it. I didn’t think I was going to love the series so I kept putting it off. I ended up really loving the series so I am really glad that I did decide to read it.

City of Bones

City of Bones 

This book is the first in the series and the book starts with Clary who is seeing some strange things. Clary finds out that there is a whole other world that she is a part of; the Shadowhunter world. Clary’s mother disappears and she is pulled into the Shadowhunter world. She gets to meet; Jace, Alec, Isabelle, Magnus Bane and many other characters. Clary goes on a mission to find her mother and stop Valentine.

I really enjoyed this book and thought that it was a good start to the series. The world that Cassandra Clare has created is really interesting and I enjoyed learning about it in this first book. Being the first book, I felt at times the story was a bit slow as the we were being introduced to the world and the characters. However despite a slow start, the pace soon picked up and there was a lot of action. I thought this book set up the series really well. I gave this book 4 stars whereas I gave all the other books 5 this was purely to the slow start. I think if I reread it my rating would probably go up.

 

City of Ashes

City of Ashes

Clary finds her mother at the end of the first book but she is in a coma. Clary has to find Valentine in order to save her mother. At the end of the first book, Clary and Jace discover that they are related so they have to come to terms with this as they have feelings for one another. The Mortal Sword goes missing and everyone thinks that Jace is responsible.

I really enjoyed this book as there was so much happening. There was a lot of action but we also got to see a lot of world building. Throughout this series, I have really enjoyed the side  characters. I think that the side characters are really interesting and we get to see them a lot and they have their own stories. Simon is one of the side characters and he is one of my favourites. He is so funny and I like the relationship he and Jace have as it is so amusing. In this book Simon goes through a lot. Firstly we think that Simon is dead, then he turns into a vampire and then Valentine kills him. Luckily Jace gives him some of his blood so Simon becomes a Daylighter and is able to walk in the sun. This book played with my emotions a lot but I really enjoyed it.

City of Glass

City of Glass

Clary has to travel to the City of Glass to save her mother. The City of Glass is the home of Shadowhunters and you can’t go there unless you have permission. If you do then you’d be breaking the Law which could lead to death. Clary meets Sebastian who she thinks is an ally. A huge war takes place between the Shadowhunters and Valentine. The Shadowhunters join forces with the Downworlders to put an end to Valentine.

From the start of this book I was hooked. I needed to find out what was going to happen. There were so many plot twists involving Jace and Sebastian. What I like about this series is that it covers a wide range of topics. There is action, romance, friendships, family, magic and so many other topics that there really is something for everyone to enjoy. In this book, Alec finally reveals his true feelings for Magnus which I really enjoyed reading. I love these two characters together.

Kirsty xoxo

 

10 thoughts on “The Mortal Instruments Books 1-3 by Cassandra Clare Review

Leave a Reply

