Wrap Up

February Wrap Up

Today I am going to share with you all the books that I have read in the month of February.

Definitely Dead

I am still making my way through the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris and I have just finished book 6; Definitely Dead. I want to get this series finished by the end of the year. I loved the TV show but for me, the books are just a bit meh. They get a bit repetitive after a while and I personally think that the series is far too long. That being said they are enjoyable quick reads.

City of Fallen Angels

I love the Mortal Instruments series and this book was no exception. I think that Cassandra Clare has created an amazing world and I really enjoy discovering more about it with each book that I read. I really enjoyed seeing more of Simon in this book, his character is so funny and he had some great  interactions with Jace in this book. I particularly liked this line: ‘This from the guy who has all the sex appeal of a penguin’. The ending was such a shock and a massive cliffhanger for the next book.

Clockwork Prince

This month I really wanted to try and read all of Cassandra Clare’s books. Lady Midnight is coming out in March and I am really excited. I am also going to an event in London which I can’t wait for and so I really want to have read all the books before I go to that. I love this series just as much as I love the Mortal Instruments. This book was full of action and there were so many twists and turns. I really enjoy reading books set during the Victorian era especially those set in London.

Anna and the French Kiss

I decided to take a break from Cassandra Clare’s books so I decided to read a light contemporary. This was definitely a light contemporary and it was really enjoyable. I loved all the characters in this book. I really enjoyed seeing Anna and St Clair’s relationship develop. This book made me really want to go to Paris and I wish my parents had sent me to boarding school in Paris.

Halo

I started this book last year and I really wasn’t into it so I put it to one side. I had read a lot of dystopian novels and this just felt the same so I decided to read other things instead. I recently decided to try and read more of the books that are on my iPad so I thought I would finish this one off. I ended up really enjoying this story despite it being very similar to other dystopian novels. The world in this book was really interesting. The people all wore Halos which controlled their emotions and they participated in fights that reminded me of gladiators or something similar.

City of Lost Souls

I loved this book so much just like I have loved every other book in this series. There was so much happening in this book and I just couldn’t put it down. I needed to find out what was going to happen.

Covert

I originally was going to give this 4 stars as I really enjoyed it but I decided to give it 3 stars as when I thought about it the murderer was quite obvious and the plot wasn’t that original. This book was about a group of teenagers that go on a weekend away and two of them end up dead. The murderer has to be one of the group members and throughout the book, we are trying to discover who did it.

Clockwork Princess

This is the last book in the Infernal Devices trilogy. I thought that this was a fantastic ending to the trilogy. The ending was completely unexpected which I really enjoyed. I really enjoyed the love triangle in this series which is unusual as I don’t usually like them. This book made me feel so many different emotions, there were some heartbreaking moments as well as some happy ones.

City of Heavenly Fire

This is the last book in the Mortal Instruments series and I really enjoyed it. This wrapped up the series really well and it introduced us to new characters that are going to be in the next series. I love how Cassandra Clare weaves stories together as there is an overlap with the Infernal Devices series.

Stars Above

This is a collection of short stories set in the Lunar Chronicles world. We got to see some of the characters when they were younger. We got to see two characters getting married which was really sweet. I enjoyed seeing events that happened in the series from different characters points of view. My favourite stories were: Carswell’s Guide to Being Lucky and Something Old, Something New. I think this a must read for fans of the series.

Kindred Spirits

Rainbow Rowell released a short story for World Book day and WH Smith had it in a couple of days early. This is a cute story about a girl who decides to queue outside a cinema for the new Star Wars film. She thought it was going to be an amazing experience but soon learns it is not what she thought it was going to be. I liked the relationship that developed between Gabe and Elena and I would like to see a whole novel dedicated to them in the future.

The Bane Chronicles

Magnus Bane is one of my favourite characters in the Mortal Instruments so I really enjoyed this collection of short stories that are all about him. We get to see some of the different adventures that Magnus has been on. My favourite stories were: The Rise of the Hotel Dumort, Saving Raphael Santiago, What to Buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (And Who You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway) and The Course of True Love (And First Dates). This book is perfect if you are a fan of the series and love Magnus.

Ella Enchanted

I picked this up on a whim and I really did not enjoy it. It is a Cinderella retelling so the plot is quite basic but this did not bother me. I really did not like the writing style and I found myself skipping over bits and then having to go back and read them. I felt that the characters lacked any development. This is a children’s book but I know that I would not have enjoyed this if I had read it when I was younger.

Shopaholic Ties the Knot

The last book I read this month was the third book in the Shopaholic series. I really enjoy this series as the books are quick reads and they are really funny. Becky gets herself into some really amusing situations and it is always funny seeing her trying to get out of them.

What did you read in February?

Kirsty xoxo

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

