Review

I Am Number Four by Pittacus Lore Review

I Am Number Four

Plot Outline

Nine aliens left their home planet Lorien when it was under attack. Now there are nine aliens living on Earth. Lorien was being attacked by the Mogadorian and the Nine had to flee and hide on Earth. They look like ordinary humans so they can easily blend in however, they  have powers. The first three aliens were killed and now the Mogadorian are after number four; John Smith.

My Opinion

When I first picked up this book I was excited to read it as I had heard a lot of really good things about it. I thought the plot sounded really interesting and I haven’t read that many books about aliens. I was left really disappointed with this book. I didn’t like any of the main characters and so I wasn’t interested in their story. Once I started reading it the story seemed very bland and not very memorable. The relationship in this book was too quick, John seemed to fall for Sarah very quickly and they were soon together. I would have liked to have seen the relationship develop at a slower pace as this felt too quick for my taste. The characters seemed very similar to other characters in YA books. The plot sounded really interesting and I was expecting a fast paced story however I found it to be very slow. The majority of this story was really slow and boring, the action parts even seemed quite slow paced. For me, this story was very similar to other YA books and I just didn’t get on with it. I know a lot of people really enjoy this series but it was just not for me. I have only read a few alien books but I haven’t enjoyed them so perhaps this genre is not for me. I do want to see the movie so I can see how it compares and maybe I will enjoy the movie more.

2 Stars

What did you think of this?

Kirsty xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

