Review

Earthbound by Aprilynne Pike Review

Earthbound

Plot Outline

Tavia survived a plane crash that killed both of her parents. She begins to see strange visions of a boy that she has never seen before which leads her to believe that there are things about her past that she does not know. She soon discovers that she can’t trust anyone and that she may have been the intended target of the plane crash. She can only trust her friend and the guy that she keeps seeing.

My Opinion 

When I was reading this book I found it to be very confusing as there were a lot of things happening and I don’t think that they were explained as well as they could have been. There was a complicated love triangle between Tavia’s best friend and the ghost of a guy that she started seeing. I thought that the love triangle was complicated and unnecessary and seemed to be only included because the majority of YA books have one. There were many parts in this story that were similar to many other YA books and as a result, the story was very predictable and in places boring because the story didn’t seem very original. The main character was really annoying and spent a lot of the book whining and as a result, I didn’t care about her and wasn’t interested in her story. I was disappointed with this book as I have heard a lot of people rave about Aprilynne Pike’s work but I really did not get on with this one. Although I won’t be carrying on with this series I would be interested to try some of her other books to see if I like them. I am interested in her Wings series as that is about fairies and I have really enjoyed reading fairy books in the past.

2 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

