Uncategorized

Falling Fast by Sophie McKenzie Review

Falling Fast

Plot outline

This book follows River, a girl taking part in the school play of Romeo and Juliet. She ends up falling for the guy playing Romeo; Flynn. River is a true romantic and she really wants to experience love with Flynn but Flynn comes from a difficult background and is not the easiest of people to be around.

My Opinion

From the cover,  I was expecting a really light-hearted contemporary novel. However, I really did not like the relationship in this book. Flynn gets angry at the smallest of things, whenever River mentions family or money Flynn gets extremely angry. Flynn gets angry at River just because his family is not very well off and whilst I can sympathise with that I felt that it was unnecessary that he got so angry. It came across as if he was blaming River for his family situation. Whilst Flynn got angry every few seconds River put up with this throughout the book. I personally did not think that this was a healthy relationship as Flynn was angry all the time but River seemed so blinded by love. This book is the first book in a series but I will not be carrying on with the series as I did not like the relationship or the characters. I was disappointed with this book as I was a expecting a much lighter story as the cover makes it appear like a cute contemporary novel. I felt that there was a real lack of romance in this book.

2 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

