Review

The Dinner by Herman Koch Review

 

The Dinner (2)

This was one of the biggest disappointments of last year. I really enjoy watching How To Get Away With Murder and this was on a list of recommended reads if you enjoy the show. I decided to pick it up as it sounded such an interesting concept and it sounded as if it would be dark and twisted. However, I found this book to be really disappointing and not at all what I was expecting.

Plot outline

Two boys have committed a terrible crime and their parents meet up to discuss what they are going to do about it. They meet up at a fancy restaurant to talk about the problem and to discuss what will happen. Everyone knows about the crime that has been committed but only the parents know that it was their children who did it. The parents will go to great lengths to protect their sons.

My opinion 

I decided to pick up this book as the concept sounded really interesting and unique. In the beginning, I found the story to be very slow going as the parents were just having a normal conversation and we knew very little about the crime that had been committed. The characters in the book are extremely well off and come across as being really snobby so I found them very difficult to relate to. The way they chose to deal with the problem seemed very unusual and I felt little sympathy for the characters. From reading the synopsis, I was expecting a lot more drama and action but I found the story to be very bland and boring. The only real bit of drama that we got was towards the end when we finally discovered what the boys had done. The characters were extremely pretentious and I really did not like any of the characters in this book. I was really disappointed with this book as I was expecting so much more from it. A lot of people really enjoy this book and give it a really good review and I really wish that I had been one of those people as I found the idea so interesting.

2 Stars

Have you read this? What did you think of it?

Kirsty xoxo

One thought on “The Dinner by Herman Koch Review

Leave a Reply

