Review

The Throne of Glass Series Review by Sarah J Maas

Today I am doing a series review for one of my favourite series; The Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas. I love this series and if you are a fan of fantasy then I think that you will love this series too. Also, as a side note, the covers are beautiful and will look great on any bookshelf.  This review contains spoilers so if you haven’t read up to Heir of Fire be warned that there are spoilers in this review.

The Assassins Blade

The Assassin’s Blade

This is a collection of short stories which happen before the events of the first book. I really enjoyed reading this collection of stories as we got to see a lot more of Celaena’s character. We got to see a lot of different sides to her as we got to see her as an assassin but we also got to see her more caring side especially with Sam. The first story is The Assassin and the Pirate Lord; I really liked seeing Celaena in this book. We got to see that despite being an assassin she is a caring person as she freed the slaves. I liked the relationship that she had with Sam in this story. In The Assassin and the Healer we once again get to see Celaena’s caring side. She helps Yrene by teaching her how to defend herself and by giving her money so that she can go and train to become a healer. For me, The Assassin and the Desert was not as good as the first two. It started out much slower although the pace did pick up towards the end. I enjoyed seeing Celaena and Ansel’s friendship develop but I was shocked to learn of Ansel’s true nature. We get to see how badly Arobynn treats Celaena in The Assassin and the Underworld. I was glad that she moved out of the Keep as he was treated her terribly. She finally admits her true feelings for Sam in this story which was great to see. The last story; The Assassin and the Empire was heartbreaking to read. Despite knowing that Sam dies it was still really sad to read. This book was cruel in a way because we got to see their relationship develop despite knowing that it would not last. This book is great at providing more background information about the character of Celaena. I’ve heard people say that this book is a must read before reading Queen of Shadows.

Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass

I did write a separate review of this book so I won’t go into too much detail here. If you want to see my review for this book then you can here. I thought this was a great start to the series. There are so many things that this series offers that there really is something for everyone. For me, the start of the book was a little slow as the world and characters were being set up and that is why this book did not get 5 stars.

Crown of Midnight

Crown of Midnight

I loved this book and I thought that it was an excellent sequel to Throne of Glass. There was so much that  happened in this book and so much that we learned. This book really set up the story for the rest of the series. In this book, we discovered that Dorian has powers which I found really interesting and I am looking forward to seeing how this plays out in the rest of the series. Chaol and Celaena started a relationship in this book but I was really sad that it did not last. I can’t believe what happened to Nehemia I was completely shocked. We also found out who Celaena really is and whilst it was a bit of a surprise I always suspected that there was more to her than we first realised.

Heir of Fire

Heir of Fire

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I enjoyed the other books in the series. This book seemed to be much slower than the other books. It seemed even slower than the first book at that was quite slow in the beginning. Most of the action didn’t take place until the end of the book which was really disappointing. In this book, we got to see a lot of different character’s perspectives so we didn’t get to see as much of Celaena as I would have liked. When we did get to Celaena these parts were really slow as she was training with Rowan. I didn’t like Rowan that much at first but as I got further into the book I began to like him a  lot more. I really like these two characters together. We were introduced to another new character in this book; Manon. I didn’t like Manon’s perspective very much as I didn’t feel that it added that much to the story. In the future, I imagine that Manon will play a much bigger role in the story. For me, this book felt like a filler to set up the story for the rest of the series.

I am yet to read Queen of Shadows and I have done really well at avoiding spoilers for it. I have heard many people say that it is heartbreaking so, for this reason, I have not read it as I don’t think that I am prepared to have my heart broken. I am hoping that Queen of Shadows will be more fast paced than Heir of Fire.

What do you think of this series?

Kirsty xoxo

 

 

14 thoughts on “The Throne of Glass Series Review by Sarah J Maas

Leave a Reply

