Wrap Up

January Wrap Up

Today I am going to share with you all the books I have read during January. I had a good reading month as I didn’t have classes for a couple of weeks and I had some long train journeys where I got to do a lot of reading.

My True Love Gave Me

I really enjoyed this collection of short stories. They are all winter romances. Some of them were better than others. My favourites were Midnights by Rainbow Rowell, It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins and Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White. If you love contemporaries and want to find some new authors to read then this is great I found some authors that I will certainly be checking out  in the future. I did review each story individually but I will be posting a review shortly of the entire book to show you which stories I loved and which ones I didn’t like. I gave this 4 stars because there were some stories in this that were really not to my taste especially the last story.

Little Lies

I really enjoy Liane Moriarty’s books. This book follows three different women who are kindergarten mothers. Each mother has a different story going on in their lives and what I really like about Liane Moriarty is that she writes about really serious topics and I think she writes about them really well. From the beginning of the story, we know that someone died at trivia night and the story then goes back and builds up to the events that took place on trivia night. I was hooked from the start and I thought the big reveal was really good. I love the characters that Liane Moriarty creates because they are so realistic and she discusses important issues.

Lord of Misrule

I am still making my way through this series. I really want to finish this series this year. This isn’t the best series ever but I have all the books so I really want to read them. They are quite quick reads so I should be able to finish them this year. In this book, there is a war going on in Morganville although you wouldn’t really know as barely anything happened in this book. The war was being fought by the vampires so we didn’t see a lot of it all we really saw was Claire and her friends running around Morganville doing very little. For me, the characters are quite boring and I just don’t feel connected to any of them.

Delirium

I have had this series for a while and this month I finally decided to start it. I was pleasantly surprised as I had heard mixed reviews about this book but I really enjoyed it. In this series love is a disease and when people get to a certain age they are cured so that no longer experience love. I thought this idea was really interesting and I liked the way the world was created. I liked the main character most of the time although at times she could be annoying as she was very indecisive. I liked Alex and Lena together but the relationship was an instalove relationship and I would have liked to have seen more development. There were parts of the book that were very similar to other dystopian books that I have read.

To All The Boys I've Loved Before

This book was so disappointing, so many people love this book and whilst I didn’t hate it I just didn’t love it. When I started this book I really did not like it, I couldn’t get along with the writing style and I thought the characters were really annoying. The big reveal of who sent out the letters was not a surprise to me and I had predicted it quite early on in the book. The ending really annoyed me as it ended almost how it began with Lara Jean writing a letter. I feel that the ending was meant to be a shocking cliffhanger left open for the next book but in my honest opinion, I don’t think it needs another book. I will read the sequel just to see how everything wraps up but it is not a top priority at the moment.

Winter

What can I even say about this one… I loved it. I thought that this was an excellent conclusion to the Lunar Chronicles. I am sad that the series is over but I thought the ending was really well done and I was happy with where it left off. As always I loved all the characters and the new additions of Winter and Jacin were really great. I am so excited for Stars Above to come out next month.

 

Eleanor and Park

When I first started reading this I really did not like it. I’m not sure whether it was the writing style or the dual perspective that I did not like but there was something that I just didn’t click with. As I read further I really began to enjoy the book. I loved seeing Eleanor and Park’s relationship develop and I liked the friendship that they shared. Eleanor’s situation was difficult to read about but I thought Rainbow Rowell covered it really well. The ending was heartbreaking, on the one hand, I was really happy for Eleanor but also really sad.

 

Happily Ever After

This is a collection of short stories from The Selection series. I really enjoyed the stories and I liked seeing more background to some of the other characters. I really enjoyed The Queen, The Prince and The Favourite. This book had some lovely artwork in that really added to my reading experience. If you like the Selection series then this is a must read.

Attachments

This book was really disappointing for me. I found the story really boring and not enjoyable. This book follows Lincoln whose job is to read people’s emails. From reading emails exchanged between Beth and Jennifer he falls in love with Beth despite having not actually met her. Beth was also in love with him as she had seen him once at the office. I just couldn’t get on board with this book the two characters don’t actually meet until the end but they are both madly in love with one another. So many people love this book but it just was not for me.

 

Carry On

This month has been the month of Rainbow Rowell. I loved this book. I loved Baz and Simon and their relationship. I thought that this was just going to be a copy of Harry Potter and whilst their similarities I really enjoyed it. The magic system was really unique and interesting. I highly recommend this book and I hope Rainbow Rowell comes back to these characters again as I need more Simon and Baz.

Clockwork Angel

I loved this book. I have read the first three books of the Mortal Instruments series and I am following the reading order that Cassandra Claire suggests. I found it really interesting to discover more about the Shadowhunters world. I thought the setting of Victorian London was really interesting and one that I really enjoyed reading about. I can’t wait to see what will happen in the rest of the series.

Red Queen

I decided to re-read Red Queen as Glass Sword is coming out in February and I wanted the story to be fresh in my mind. Having re-read this book, I am now even more excited for the sequel to this book. I need to know what is going to happen to all of the characters. The betrayal that occurs was still as heartbreaking as the first time that I read it.

Make a Christmas Wish

This book followed the ghost of Livvy who wanted her old life back. She decided t haunt her husband and his girlfriend and her son. I enjoyed seeing the aspects of traditional Christmas stories showing the past, present and future. There were some difficult topics covered in this book and I thought that the author handled them really well.

Head Over Heels

I couldn’t find this book for the longest time which is why it took me ages to finish. I finally finished this book this month and I was really disappointed. I’ve read quite a few Jill Mansell books and I have really enjoyed them but I didn’t like this one. This book had too many characters and it was really difficult to keep up with who was who. Nearly ever character was having an affair which also made it really confusing. There were a lot of sub-plots and I feel that some of them weren’t resolved properly.

What did you read this month?

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

