Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday: Disappointing Eye Candy

For those of you unfamiliar with Top 5 Wednesdays then you can check out the Goodreads group here. This week’s topic is Disappointing Eye Candy, books that looked beautiful but weren’t very good.

AttachmentsThis was a huge disappointment. I really liked this cover and I have liked other Rainbow Rowell books. This one just wasn’t for me. I thought the story was very strange, it was a love story between two characters that didn’t actually meet until the end of the book. The main character came off as being very creepy as he was in love with someone that he’d never met but only read their emails.

 

Earthbound

I had no idea what was happening in this book. 80% of the time I was so confused. There was a strange love triangle between the main character a real guy and a ghost. It followed so many typical YA plot points that it didn’t seem very original. I really liked the colours on this cover and thought that it looked really pretty.

 

The Moon and More

This cover is beautiful, it has really strong summer vibes and looks like a fun contemporary. I didn’t like any of the characters in this story which meant I wasn’t connected to the story and didn’t really care what happened.

The 5th Wave

The cover of this is so beautiful. On the edition, I have the cover underneath the dust jacket is the same as the dust jacket which doesn’t happen very often. I found this so difficult to get into and as you can see from the above picture it took me nearly a whole month to read. The story flips from different perspectives and time periods which I found really confusing and difficult to keep up with.

 

Beautiful Creatures

I love the simplicity of this cover and thinks it looks really pretty. I found this to be so slow and not a lot happened until towards the end of the book. I feel that the story was dragged out longer than it needed to be and somehow there is still another 3 books in the series. I think this book could have easily been a standalone.

If you’ve done a post on this share your link with me as I’d love to read it.

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

