Review

The Siren by Kiera Cass Review

The Siren

The Siren by Kiera Cass

My Rating: 5

Goodreads Rating: 3.94

Published by: iUniverse.com

Pages: 267

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy

Plot Outline

Kahlen is a siren and lives in the sea with her sisters. Sirens are unable to speak to humans if they do then the human will die. She leaves the sea and her siren live behind when she meets Akinli but she is unable to speak to him. The sea is always calling to her and it is difficult for her to keep her secret and communicate with Akinli.

My Opinion

I really enjoyed this book. I liked the idea, the sirens remain in service to the ocean for 100 years and after this time, they can return to their normal lives and begin ageing. The ocean needs to feed on people and that is the job that the sirens perform. They sing in order to lure people into the sea. I’ve always been interested in sirens/mermaids and I enjoy reading books about them. The way the ocean was written was really interesting, Kiera Cass wrote the ocean as if she was an actual person. The story in some ways was quite basic as it was a love story between Akinli and Kahlen however, I really enjoyed the story and I thought that it was really well written. This is quite a short book but I quickly became immersed in the world and I felt connected to the characters. Overall I would highly recommend this book. If you enjoy siren/mermaid books then you will like this and if you have read other Kiera Cass books but not this one then you really need to check it out.

The Siren is being republished with a new cover and it comes out on 28th January and I can’t wait to get a copy as I read this from the library but would really like my own copy. As expected the cover looks beautiful and will look really good with The Selection series.

5 Stars

Kirsty xoxo

2 thoughts on “The Siren by Kiera Cass Review

Leave a Reply

