Uncategorized

Shadowhunters TV Show Discussion

As many of you may be aware Shadowhunters has recently launched. This TV series is based on The Mortal Instruments books by Cassandra Claire. I have read up to book 3 in this series and it is quickly becoming one of my series. I know that there was a film of the first book which I have not seen yet but I the reason the TV series was created was because many fans did not like the film and it was decided that the series would not be continued. When I found out about the series I was very excited but being in the UK I thought I would have to wait forever for it to be shown but luckily Netflix is showing it. I thought I would share with you what I thought of the first episode.

Firstly lets talk about the cast and the characters. I thought that the cast was pretty good. Obviously, it wasn’t perfect but this was only the first episode. I really liked Simon and I thought that he was portrayed really well. From the little we saw of Magnus I thought he was really well cast and how I’d imagine Magnus to be. Simon and Magnus were probably the standouts for me. I felt that Jace wasn’t sarcastic enough for me and Isabella had been made too sexy. Whilst I feel that Isabella does have a sexy element to her in the books I felt that it was overdone in the show.

The script was probably what really let this show down for me. The script was very cheesy and I really disliked how large parts of the dialogue were just foreshadowing for the rest of the episode. The conversation about Clary’s mum having a secret was really unnecessary in my opinion. Also, the bit when Clary said her life was mundane which is what the Shadowhunters call humans. At times, the acting seemed a bit awkward and wooden and I think this is partly down to the script.

At the start, I knew that the show would not follow everything that happens in the books and I was expecting some changes to be made. The changes made to the plot didn’t bother me too much however when Clary’s mum gave her the Steele for her birthday this made absolutely no sense. In early scenes, we saw Magnus take away Clary’s memories of the Shadowhunter world and then her mum just gives her a piece of that world.

I didn’t instantly love this show but I didn’t hate it either. I think there is room for improvement but this was just the first episode. I think this episode was used to set up the plot for the rest of the show and a lot of back story was given to set up the world. I feel that if I hadn’t read the books then I would have enjoyed this a lot more but because I’ve read the  books I think I have higher expectations. I will be carrying on with the series as I want to see what direction it will go in.

Have you seen the first episode of Shadowhunters? What did you think?

Kirsty xoxo

One thought on “Shadowhunters TV Show Discussion

Leave a Reply

