A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas Review

A Court of Thorns and Roses

To celebrate the fact that Amazon has updated A Court of Mist and Fury and we finally have a cover for it I thought I would review the first book in the series. What do you think of the cover for A Court of Mist and Fury? I really like it and I think it will look good with the red on my shelf. Anyway onto the review.

A Court of Thornes and Roses by Sarah J Maas

My Rating: 5

Goodreads Rating: 4.30

Published by: Bloomsbury Children’s

Pages: 416

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Plot Outline

When Feyre kills a wolf in the forest she is taken to the fairy world as punishment for killing one of the Fae. Feyre is taken hostage by Tamlin who wears a mask and doesn’t speak to her very much. At the start Feyre is angry but as time moves on her feelings begin to change. She finds out about a curse that has been cast on Tamlin and his court and Feyre must try and lift it. This a Beauty and Beast retelling.

My Opinion

I want to start by saying I absolutely loved this book and it was one of my favourites of 2015. I thought this was an excellent start to the series and I can’t wait for May when the second book comes out. I really liked how the relationship between Tamlin and Feyre developed as it slowly built up and wasn’t an instalove relationship. Some of the romance scenes in the book verged on buying New Adult which didn’t bother me but it may be something to consider if a) you don’t like reading that sort of thing or b) you’re still quite young. All the characters were written very well and I thought they developed well throughout the novel. The evil villain was extremely and she reminded me of Queen Levana from the Lunar Chronicles. The world building was really interesting and I can’t wait to discover more about this world in the next book.

5 Stars

Have you read this book? What did you think of it?

Kirsty xoxo

 

9 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas Review

Leave a Reply

