Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesdays: Self Published Books

This week’s topic was really difficult. I didn’t think I had read any self-published books and I haven’t read many so for this week’s post I have one series that of self-published books that I have read and four others that I want to read. If you are interested in participating in Top 5 Wednesdays then visit the Goodreads group here.

Trylle Trilogy by Amanda Hocking

I had no idea that Amanda Hocking is self-published. I really enjoyed the Trylle trilogy. This series follows Wendy who is a Trylle (troll) and she was swapped at birth and that she is part of the royal family. Wendy has to help her people as there is unrest amongst the Trylle. I enjoyed this trilogy so much, I thought the use of trolls as characters was really interesting and unique. If you want to see more detailed reviews of each of the books then I have my review here. After reading this series I knew I wanted to read more of her books.

My Blood Approves series by Amanda Hocking

This is series is all about vampires and I love reading vampire books. One thing I have noticed is that it is quite difficult to get hold of Amanda Hocking’s books in the UK so I may end up getting this on Kindle.

The Hollows series by Amanda Hocking

This is a dystopian series and I really enjoy reading dystopian books. This book is about zombies which is something I haven’t read too many books about. Amazon offered me a free kindle book so I got this and I can’t wait to read it. I could have easily gone on and mentioned Amanda Hocking’s other series but I didn’t want to this post to just be about all her books. That being said I would like to read her Watersong series which is about mermaids/sirens and the Kanin Chronicles which is a spin-off of the Trylle trilogy set in the same world following different characters.

Angelfall series by Susan Ee

This book is really popular and I didn’t know that it was self-published. This about the angel apocalypse. They descend to earth to demolish and they take away the main characters sister.

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire 

This book has received many mixed reviews but I do want to read it. I was able to pick up a copy of it from the works for 29p which was an absolute bargain. I don’t know too much about this book but I will be picking it up soon.

 

If you’ve participated in this week’s Top 5 Wednesday send me the links to your posts.

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

