Uncategorized

In The Woods by Tana French Review

In The Woods (3)

In The Woods by Tana French

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 3.71

Published by: Hodder & Stoughton

Pages: 592

Genre: Mystery, Crime, Thriller

Plot Outline

This story follows Rob Ryan who is a detective. Twenty years ago he went into the woods with his friends but he was the only one to be found. Now a 12-year-old girl has been murdered in the woods and Rob is assigned to the case.

My Opinion

I really enjoyed this book, I was gripped from the beginning. I stayed up late one night just to finish it as I needed to find out who had committed the murder. I don’t usually read mysteries as it is not normally a genre that I enjoy however this one was really enjoyable. When the murderer got revealed I was surprised as I wasn’t expecting it to be the person that it was. One thing that annoyed me was throughout the book the two cases appear to be linked however when it comes to the end of the book we discover the cases aren’t related. Throughout the book, I was desperate to find out what had happened to Rob when he was a child but we do not find out what happened. I know why the author did it so that there is an air of mystery still but I just really wanted to know what happened as it seemed such a large part of the story. I felt that Tana French developed the characters really well, they seemed very realistic and because of this, I felt connected to them. For me, this novel showed how everyone is affected by such a murder case not just the family of the girl but the detectives as well something I feel can be overlooked in novels.

 

I am interested to read more of French’s works and I have a couple of her books to read.

4 Stars

Have you read this? What did you think?

Kirsty xoxo

One thought on “In The Woods by Tana French Review

Leave a Reply

