Uncategorized

Disappointing Books of 2015

Will Grayson Will Grayson

John Green and David Levithan are two well-loved authors so I was expecting great things from this book but I really did not enjoy it. I thought the story was very dull and I did not like the writing style.

 

The Dinner

I was expecting to love this book. I thought it was going to be full of drama however I felt that the story was very bland and I struggled to finish it as I found it very boring.

 

The Diamond as Big as the Ritz

The Great Gatsby is one of my favourite books so I was really looking forward to reading more by F. Scott Fitzgerald. This book was very slow and even though it is a short book it took me ages to finish. I found the story very confusing and difficult to follow.

 

That Summer

I’ve had mixed experiences with Sarah Dessen’s work. I found this story to be slow and not much happened in it. I didn’t relate to any of the characters and I thought they were very bland. I thought this book was going to be a summery read however,  I didn’t find this to be the case.

 

The Moon and More

The storyline in this book was extremely predictable. I didn’t like any of the characters, I found Theo to be very arrogant.

For me, this series was too similar to other YA series. I felt the author was writing to a formula and felt the need to include certain things just for the sake of it.

 

I Am Number Four

I really did not enjoy this book, I thought the characters were bland and lacked personality. I felt the romance was very rushed and didn’t seem very realistic. I found the story was predictable and very similar to other YA books.

This series was really disappointing as so many people love it. The main character was very annoying and I did not like her at all. All the main character did was complain and she was so indecisive that I just wanted her to pick one of the guys and get on with it. I think this could have easily been one book rather than being dragged out over three.

 

The 5th Wave

This another book which ahs received so much hype and I just did not enjoy it. I felt that the story dragged and was extremely boring. The switching of perspectives made it very confusing.

Beautiful Creatures

This book has received so many mixed reviews and people either seem to love it or hate it. I really disliked this book because it was so slow and I didn’t like any of the characters. Heist Society

I thought this book was going to be full of action however I found it to be really boring. I found parts of the book to be very confusing at first I thought I was reading a sequel as there was so much that wasn’t explained. I didn’t feel connected to any of the characters and there seemed to be so many characters that I didn’t know who was who.

 

Falling Fast

I didn’t like any of the characters in  this book. I thought it was going to be a light hearted fun romance but it wasn’t. There wasn’t as much romance as I was expecting.

 

The Nanny Diaries

I found the main character so annoying in this book. She was a nanny for a wealthy family but she complained all the time which was really annoying. I couldn’t understand why she stayed in a job that she so clearly did not enjoy.

 

Earthbound

This book was very confusing. There was a complex love triangle between a real guy and a ghost. This book followed a lot of the usual YA tropes and therefore it was very predictable.

What books dissappointed you in 2015?

Kirsty xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “Disappointing Books of 2015

  1. I am shocked and upset that you didn’t like I am Number Four!!! It is my favourite ever series – my friends and I eagerly await every new release to add to the series! But, each to their own, I guess 🙂

    Like

    1. I was disappointed that I didn’t like it as I know so many people love it. I think I’m just not a fan of alien books as I really didn’t enjoy the 5th Wave either.

      Like

Leave a Reply

