Uncategorized

Top 15 of 2015

Today I thought I would share  my 15 favourite books from this year. You will already have seen my five favourite books of this year but as I mentioned I had more books that I wanted to talk about.

  1. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

The Fault In Our Stars

I finally read this hugely hyped book and I loved it. The writing was excellent and I really enjoyed it. This book had some great quotes. This definitely my favourite John Green book.

2. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

The Night Circus

This was written so beautifully. I loved Erin Morgenstern’s writing and I could easily picture the circus.

3. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl

I wasn’t sure whether I was going to enjoy this but I did. At first, the story was quite slow but then it really picked up especially once we had that massive plot twist which I was not expecting.

4. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

 

This has been one of my favourite discoveries of the year. The Lunar Chronicles is an amazing series. Marissa Meyer writes such amazing characters and I really like that they are all based on fairy tales.

5. Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas

 

This has been another series that I have been really impressed with. This series is about an assassin and there is also magic involved. I really like the character of Celaena and I think she is really interesting to read about as there is much more to her than just being an assassin.

6. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses

This is another great book from Sarah J Maas. I have really enjoyed discovering her this year. This book is loosely based on Beauty and the Beast.  I thought this was an excellent start to a new series.

7. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl

I loved this book so much. I found the characters so easy to relate to and I really enjoyed the story. Although the plot was quite simple I thought Rainbow Rowell’s writing made it really enjoyable.

8. The Selection series by Kiera Cass

I marathoned through this series. I really enjoyed the plot for this series, a competition to marry the prince. I found the idea of the caste system really interesting and I can’t wait to read the final book when it comes out this year.

9. Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare

I started reading the Mortal Instruments series and I really enjoyed it. The books are so fast paced and although they are quite long I get through them very quickly.

 

10. Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella

Wedding Night.jpg

I have always enjoyed Sophie Kinsella’s work and this was no exception. This was the first book of hers that I had read which had two perspectives. I thought this was one of Sophie Kinsella’s best books as I enjoyed it so much.

11. The Siren by Kiera Cass

The Siren

Another Kiera Cass book, I read this before the Selection series and I really enjoyed it. As the title suggests this book was about sirens and I found Kiera’s take on it very interesting. I really liked her writing in this book.

12. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen

This book was hugely popular this year and I also really enjoyed it. This is a new fantasy series and one I would highly recommend. I found the concept behind this very interesting and I can’t wait to read more from this world.

13. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Me Before You

I thought this book was excellent. It was about Lou who was hired to look after Will who has been paralysed by a motorbike accident. This was such a heartbreaking book and I can’t wait to see the movie.

14. Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

Finding Audrey

Another Sophie Kinsella book. This was her first YA book and I thought it was really good. The main character has anxiety and I thought this was written really well. There were moments in this book when I was laughing out loud.

15. The Last of the Spirits by Chris Priestley

The Last of the Spirits

I only read this towards the end of the year but it left such an impression on me that I had to include it. Priestley incorporated the Christmas Carol story into his own and I really enjoyed it.

What were your favourites of 2015?

Kirsty xoxo

Leave a Reply

