Uncategorized

December Wrap Up

Mean Spirits

Mean Spirits by Meg Cabot- 3/5

This is the third book in the Mediator series. In this book Suze’s friend Gina comes to stay. 4 teenagers died in a car accident and Suze discovers that it wasn’t an accident. This book seemed to have a lot more action than the previous book and seemed much more fast paced.

City of Glass

City of Glass by Cassandra Claire- 5/5

I am really enjoying this series. There is so much happening in this book and I didn’t want to put it down as I wanted to find out what was going to happen. There was a lot of interesting information revealed in this book about Jace and Valentine.

Fairest

Fairest by Marissa Meyer- 4/5

I really enjoyed reading this and finding out more about Queen Levana. I found it really interesting to see her past. It was a really quick read but I would have liked to have seen more from this as I felt it was a bit short.

I Heart Hollywood

I Heart Hollywood by Lindsey Kelk- 3/5

I read the first book in this series earlier this year but I didn’t enjoy this one quite so much. Angela spent most of the book complaining which I found really annoying. I found the story to be very cliche and I felt that I had seen the plot before.

I Heart Paris

I Heart Paris by Lindsey Kelk- 4/5

I enjoyed this book a lot more than the second one. This time, Angela was in Paris. I found the story more enjoyable although the plot was still quite predictable. I’m not a huge fan of Angela as a character as I find she complains way too much but I do find the series an enjoyable read.

The Last of the Spirits

The Last of the Spirits by Chris Priestley- 4/5

I found this really interesting. It is told from the perspective of two children who meet Scrooge on Christmas Eve. They encounter the same spirits that Scrooge does. I really enjoyed the way that Priestley combined Dickens’ works into his own to create a new story.

Shine

Shine by Candy Gourlay- 4/5

It took me awhile to get into this story as it flicks from the past to present. The story is about Rosa who lives on an island, she has an illness which means she is unable to speak. Once I got into it I found it to be really fast paced.

 

All My Secrets

All My Secrets by Sophie McKenzie- 3/5

I  enjoyed this book. It followed Evie who found out her mother wasn’t her birth mother and she got sent to an island for ‘troubled’ teens. On the island, she thought she saw her mother’s ghost and she began to believe that her mother had been murdered. I found this to be really fast paced but the ending was a little disappointing as it was very predictable.

Stonebird

Stonebird by Mike Revell- 4/5

I really enjoyed this book. It was about a boy who finds a magical gargoyle. The gargoyle protects Liam and whenever Liam tells stories the gargoyle makes them come true. Liam uses the gargoyle to try and help his sick Grandma. This dealt with some difficult themes and I feel that it was written really well.

The Crowham Martyrs.jpg

The Crowham Martyrs- 3/5

This book is set in a boarding school and the main character is able to see ghosts. I really liked the writing in this book, the descriptions were very detailed and I could easily picture the setting and the characters. At times, it was a bit confusing and I wasn’t always sure what was happening.

Kirsty xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

