Favourites · Top 5 Wednesdays

Top 5 Wednesdays:Top 5 Books of the Year

This was really hard to narrow down to just five. I will be doing a separate post of my top 15 of the year as I have so many favourites I want to talk about. I will also be doing a post about which books I found the most disappointing this year. This is a group on Goodreads and can be found here.

  1. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault In Our Stars

I absolutely loved this book. I liked the characters and I thought the relationships between them were really well  written. This book was really well written and had some amazing quotes.

“As he read, I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.” 

2. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern 

The Night Circus

This was fantastic, the writing was great. The imagery that was created meant I could easily picture what the circus was like. The plot was relatively simple but for me, the writing and descriptions made it so much more enjoyable.

“The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.”

3. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell 

Fangirl

This was fantastic. I loved the characters as I thought they were really realistic. The relationship between Cath and Levi was really well written. I would love to see more of these characters and I hope that Rainbow Rowell revisits them in the future.

“I don’t trust anybody. Not anybody. And the more that I care about someone, the more sure I am they’re going to get tired of me and take off.”

4. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses

This was a great start to the series. It was difficult to choose which Sarah J Maas series to mention as I have also really enjoyed the Throne of Glass series this year. I loved the characters especially the evil queen as I found her very interesting. I can’t wait to see what will happen in the next book.

“Don’t feel bad for one moment about doing what brings you joy.”

5. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

This might be cheating as it is technically three  books, but I couldn’t decide which one was my favourite. The characters and the world was really well written. I was addicted to this series and loved everything about it.

“Even in the Future the Story Begins with Once Upon a Time.”

What have been your favourites this year?

Kirsty xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

