Review

Looking For Alaska by John Green Review (SPOILERS)

My Rating: 3

Goodreads Rating: 4.15

Published by: Harper Collins

Pages: 263

Genre:  Young Adult, Contemporary

Looking For Alaska

I have such a mixed opinion of John Green books some of them I really love (The Fault in Our Stars and Paper Towns) and some of them I really dislike (An Abundance of Katherines and Will Grayson, Will Grayson). This one came somewhere in between for me I didn’t hate it, but it wasn’t as good as people make out.

Plot Overview

This book focuses on Miles who moves to boarding school and meets The Colonel and Alaska. Alaska is a mysterious character and Miles is instantly interested in her. The book follows the antics that they get up to during the school year. Miles gets to experience everything Culver Creek has to offer including smoking, drinking and pulling pranks on fellow students.

My Opinion

I thought the start of the story was very slow and I found it a bit tedious. Following Miles as he started school felt very similar to pretty much every other YA book I have read. I felt the characters were very similar to other John Green characters. I thought that Miles and Alaska were very similar to Quentin and Margo. However when Alaska dies I was really shocked and the plot really picked up. The boys try to figure out whether Alaska committed suicide or whether it was an accident. Although the plot picked up slightly at the beginning of the After section it soon became slow again. The boys never really get a solid answer on whether Alaska committed suicide or not.  The prank at the end was meant to bring closure to the characters, but I felt it was a bit pointless and the overall ending was very anticlimactic. I felt that this book is so overhyped and I really can’t see how people enjoy it so much. John Green is not my favourite author and I feel that his books have been overhyped and most of them aren’t that original and the characters are all very similar.

What did you think of this book?

Kirsty xxx

3 Stars

Leave a Reply

