Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell Review

Fangirl (3)

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

My Rating: 5

Goodreads Rating: 4.19

Published by: Pan Macmillan

Pages: 461

Genre: Romance, Young Adult, Contemporary

Words cannot describe how much I loved this book but today I am going to try and express how much I loved Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

Fangirl is about Cath and her twin sister Wren. Cath is a huge Simon Snow fan and she spends most of her time writing fanfiction. The sisters move to college and Wren wants to experience all that college has to offer, but Cath would rather stay in and write fanfiction. Cath is shocked when Wren does not want to be roommates and she ends up moving in with Reagan and she also meets Levi.

Firstly I’ll start with the characters, I loved them all and I thought that they were so realistic. I could easily relate to Cath as me and her are very similar in a lot of ways. I thought Levi was adorable he was so caring and was willing to do anything for Cath. I thought Cath and Levi worked really well together and their relationship was so sweet. The relationship between the two characters started off slowly and I liked that they were friends first and that there was no instalove as I really don’t like that.

I thought that this book was a great light hearted read and a perfect summer read. The only thing I didn’t like was the ending. The ending was left quite open and after I finished I was left wanting more of the characters. I think the book could easily be longer as I loved the characters so much and I wanted to see them grow up more. I hope Rainbow Rowell will revisit these characters in the future maybe after they finish college.

This was my first Rainbow Rowell book and it was a great introduction to the author and I can’t wait to read more of her books.

What did you think of this book?

Kirsty xxx

5 Stars

26 thoughts on “Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell Review

  1. Loved this book! I agree, I loved the fact that it wasn’t a instalove connection between Levi and Wren. (Also loved that there was a story within the story for Simon Snow…adorable)
    I would recommend her other books, especially Eleanor & Park. That book is sure to tug on your heart strings….but believe me you will completely fall in love!
    Great post!

    Like

  2. Yes, I do agree. The ending is not that satisfying and everything seems to be left unfinished. But one of the things I don’t like about this book is the fact that Cather never grew out of her shell despite Wren’s influence. Well, I don’t much like this book but I don’t hate it either. 🙂 nice review. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, I was slightly disappointed by the ending but I feel that it gives Rowell the opportunity to revisit the characters if she wants to which I really hope she does. x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been seeing this book around so much and really need to get a move on reading it before Carry On comes out! Glad you also had fun with it, the book sound very charming!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

