Top 5 Wednesdays

Top 5 Wednesdays: Favourite Required Reading

Today’s post is part of the Top 5 Wednesday group that is on Goodreads.

It didn’t take me too long to think of my answers for this question. I have read quite a few books for school, but there are only a few that I really enjoyed.

The first book I remember reading and enjoying at school was Holes by Louis Sachar. I loved the story and how everything was all connected. At the time, we were reading this in class and we read it very slowly about 2-3 pages per lesson and because I was enjoying it so much I decided to finish it outside of class. The film is also one of my favourites.

The next book I enjoyed was The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time by Mark Haddon. This is such a unique story about a boy with autism who tries to solve the mystery of the neighbours murdered dog. This is really well written and unlike anything else I have ever read.  I’ve seen the theatre production of this and it was absolutely amazing.

Romeo and Juliet is one of my favourite Shakespeare plays and I really enjoyed reading this for school. I have watched all the film versions and I have seen a few theatre productions of it as well.

The next two favourites are both books that I read for my GCSEs, the first is Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck I enjoyed the story of this and the characters. The ending is so sad and I have reread this many times as it is such a quick read but also an enjoyable story.

I am not usually one for ghost stories, but this one is one of the best I have read, The Woman in Black is really well written the imagery it creates is wonderful. When I read it, it sent chills done my spine. I’ve seen this at the theatre as well and it was excellent although a little bit scary, the film was ok, but it didn’t follow the book 100%. I recommend reading this during the daytime as it can be scary.

Leave a Reply

