Review

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas Review

Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 4.22

Published by: Bloomsbury

Pages: 404

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance

This series has received a lot of hype over the past few months and I decided to start it to see what all the fuss was about.  I thought this was very good and a great way to start the series. I have already picked up the second book to read.

This book follows Celaena our main character. She is an assassin and she is taken from prison by  Prince Dorian in order to compete in a competition to become the King’s Champion. She met Chaol who is the Captain of the Guard and he is the one who helps to train her.

I loved the character of Celaena, she was extremely likeable despite being an assassin. She was witty and sarcastic, but she also had a kinder side to her. We got to see her softer side when she was with Dorian, Nehemia and Fleetfoot (her dog).

This book had so many different aspects to it; fantasy, romance, mystery and action so there is something for everyone. Although it is a fantasy book it doesn’t go overboard with the fantasy and there are other aspects. I find that some fantasy books can be difficult to follow as they usually have such large worlds, this does have a large world, but I didn’t find it difficult to follow.

I found the start of the book to be a little bit slow which is why I didn’t give it 5 stars. I found once that I got into it the book was quite fast paced. By the end of this book, I was hooked on the world and the characters.

I thought the relationships between Celaena, Chaol and Dorian were really well written. There is clearly going to be a love triangle between the characters and I think this will become more prominent in the rest of the books.

What do you think of this book?

Kirsty xxx

10 thoughts on “Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas Review

  1. I did not get along well with this book but I’m glad you enjoyed it. I felt that the plot was going nowhere. For the first book it truly felt like filler.

    Like

    1. I could see why you didn’t like it as I felt it was quite slow at first. However, I think this book was being used to set up the rest of the series.

      Like

Leave a Reply

