Review

Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella Review

Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella

Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella

My Rating: 5

Goodreads Rating: 3.34

Published by: Black Swan

Pages: 460

Genre: Romance, Chick Lit, Contemporary

What Goodreads Says

‘Lottie just knows that her boyfriend is going to propose, but then his big question involves a trip abroad — not a trip down the aisle. Completely crushed, Lottie reconnects with an old flame, and they decide to take drastic action. No dates, no moving in together, they’ll just get married . . . right now. Her sister, Fliss, thinks Lottie is making a terrible mistake, and will do anything to stop her. But Lottie is determined to say “I do,” for better, or for worse’.

What I thought

I enjoy Sophie Kinsella’s books, if you need a light, quick read that will help pick you up then she is a good author to choose. When Lottie discovers that her boyfriend isn’t asking her to marry him she goes towards one of her old boyfriends and they decide to get married. I believe that this is the first Sophie Kinsella book that I’ve read where we get different characters point of view (POV). We get the POVs of Lottie and her sister Fliss. I like to read books with more than one POV as it gives more insight into the situations that are occurring. I liked Lottie as she was kind and easy going although she was quite naïve which could be annoying at times. Fliss who is the older sister was always looking out for Lottie throughout this book. By switching between Lottie and Fliss, I felt that it made the book move quicker and stopped it from getting boring.

I liked all the characters in this book. I also thought that the book was very funny; Fliss went to great lengths to prevent Lottie and Ben from getting married and this was very amusing to read. I think the side characters; Richard and Lorcan were used very well and I really liked both of them. I especially liked Lorcan as he was very witty and sarcastic.

As with most Sophie Kinsella books, the plot line is predictable however when there are characters that you care about I find that this doesn’t matter.

There are mixed reviews about this book, but I found it very enjoyable to read. I have really enjoyed Sophie Kinsella’s recent books; this one and I’ve Got Your Number are some of my favourites by her. I really want to get my hands on Finding Audrey as I have read a sample of it on IBook’s and it seems really good.

If you are a fan of chick lit novels, a fan of Sophie Kinsella or are just looking for a light summer read I recommend this book to you.

5 Stars

What did you think of this book?

Kirsty xxx

4 thoughts on “Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella Review

Leave a Reply

