Wrap Up

June Wrap Up 2015

Today I am going to be sharing with you the books I read in June. I managed to read a total of 12 books this month which I was really impressed with.

Gone Girl (3)

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

My Rating: 5

Goodreads Rating: 3.97

This book has been very popular and a lot of people have been talking about it so I decided to read it. I thought it was very good. The story is about Nick and Amy Dunne when Amy disappears Nick is the prime suspect in her disappearance. Right from the beginning it is clear that Nick isn’t involved as that would be too obvious although we can see that Nick and Amy did not have the perfect marriage that you first might think. This book is told from two perspectives; Amy and Nick’s. In the first part we get diary entries from Amy and we get to see how Nick is handling the disappearance. I found the story to be a bit slow going at first and it took me about 100 pages or so before I got into it. I was expecting the twist that came at the end of part 1. Overall I really enjoyed it and at least for part 2 I struggled to put it down.

Will Grayson, Will Grayson  (3)

Will Grayson. Will Grayson

My Rating: 3

Goodreads Rating: 3.92

I’ve had mixed experiences with John Green’s books, I really disliked An Abundance of Katherines but, I really loved The Fault In Our Stars. This book did not really impress me. I thought it was better than An Abundance of Katherines, but overall I didn’t really enjoy it. This book is written by John Green and David Levithan and is about two characters called Will Grayson. Each author writes the point of view of each of the Will Graysons. I felt that the plot was a bit lacking and not very much happened throughout the novel. I wasn’t really a fan of David Levithan’s writing style and it really annoyed me that he didn’t use capital letters.

Frostbitten (1)

Frostbitten by Kelley Armstrong

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 4.28

This is the tenth book in the Women of the Otherworld series. This book follows Elena Michaels who is the only female werewolf.  This series follows different female characters who are a variety of different supernatural beings. This series is quite good as although the characters do reappear throughout the series, you don’t necessarily have to read the books in order.

Chosen (1)

Chosen by PC and Kristin Cast

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 3.90

This is the third book in the House Of Night series. I really like this series as it is different from other vampire novels. Vampires are marked when they are a teen and they progress through the change at a special school. Not everybody makes this change successfully.

The Siren

The Siren by Kiera Cass

My Rating: 5

Goodreads Rating: 3.93

I really enjoyed this book. It was about sirens which is something I haven’t read anything about before. This was about a girl who is a siren and can’t talk because if she opens her mouth she will lure people to the sea and they will end up dead. She meets a boy and she falls in love with him, but they can’t be together as she can’t speak to them. I loved the way that the author wrote about the sea as if it was a real person and it needed to feed on people and it is the sirens job to lure them in. I thought the relationship between the two characters was really good and despite the girl not being able to talk they still manage to communicate.

Rivals at the Tudor Court  (3)

Rivals of the Tudor Court by Darcey Bonnette

My Rating: 5

Goodreads Rating: 3.67

I am a huge fan of historical fiction especially if it is set in the Tudor period. This book is about Thomas Howard (Duke of Norfolk) who is Anne Boleyn’s uncle. I thought it made a nice change to read about a different character. Most of the books set in the Tudor period are about Henry 8th, Anne Boleyn or Catherine of Aragon so it was interesting to read about someone I didn’t really know a lot about. I enjoyed this one a bit more than the other Darcey Bonnette book that I have read.

The Dinner (2)

The Dinner by Herman Koch

My Rating: 2

Goodreads Rating: 3.21

I had such high hopes for this book, but I felt that it was very disappointing. I thought it was going to be fast paced but I found it to be very slow going. There wasn’t very much action in this book and I didn’t like any of the characters. I will be doing a full review of this book as I was just so disappointed.

Wonder (1)

Wonder by R. J. Palacio

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 4.42

I thought that this was a very good book. It is about a boy who has facial abnormalities, for most of his live he has been home schooled but he is going to school for the first time. I thought this was an interesting book as it is a topic that you don’t see very often in books. The plot is quite basic, a boy is going to school for the first time and his parents are concerned that he will be bullied. When he gets to school he does get bullied however, he does make some friends. I liked the message in this book even if the plot was predictable and a bit basic.

Omens  (1) Visions (1)

Omens by Kelley Armstrong

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 4.02

Visions by Kelley Armstrong

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 4.27

This is the first and second book in the Cainsville series which is about Olivia who finds out that she is adopted and her biological parents are convicted serial killers. She ends up moving to Cainsville to escape the media. She wants to learn more about her parents and whether they did actually commit the murders. I have enjoyed reading this series, it has a paranormal/fantasy undertone to it, but it is more of a mystery series. I enjoyed both the books but I really want some answers and I am hoping that the third book will give them to me when it comes out later this year.

Cinder

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

My Rating: 5

Goodreads Rating: 4.13

This book was so amazing. I am glad I finally started this series because I loved it. This is a modern retelling of Cinderella set in New Beijing and our main character is a cyborg. I thought the characters and the world were really well written. Although the plot twist was predictable I thought it was so good that it didn’t bother me that it was predictable. I will be writing a full review of the series once I have read the other two books in the series.

The Diamond As Big As The Ritz

The Diamond As Big As The Ritz by F. Scott Fitzgerald

My Rating: 2

Goodreads Rating: 3.79

This was the last book I read in June and it was so disappointing. The Great Gatsby is one of my favourite books so I thought I would love this short story by F. Scott Fitzgerald but I really didn’t.

What have you read this month?

Kirsty xxx

Leave a Reply

