Review

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart Review

WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS!!!

We We're Liars   (3)

The story is about Cadence Sinclair, who is from the wealthy Sinclair a stereotypical wealthy American family. Every year the Sinclair family go on holiday to their private island. Cadence meets up with her cousins Mirren and Johnny and Gat who is the outcast as he is not a Sinclair. These four are known as the Liars.

At the start of the novel, I found it very difficult to get into as it has an unusual writing style. The author uses a lot of metaphors which makes it difficult to decipher what is real and what isn’t. For example on page 5 when Cadence is talking about her dad leaving “My father put a suitcase into the backseat of the Mercedes and started the engine. Then he pulled out a handgun and shot me in the chest”. It took me a while to realise that this was just a metaphor for how Cadence felt. From the start it is clear that something is wrong with Cadence and that there was some sort of accident that meant that she had a head injury which made her an unreliable narrator.

We know very little about Cadence’s accident as she cannot remember it and all the other characters are reluctant to talk about it. We discover that the Sinclair family is not a big happy family that you might expect. The aunts are always arguing about who is going to inherit what. The Liars often hang out with each other and separate themselves from all the drama.

When I first got this book I thought the Liars were going to be really bad and have lots of secrets and they do have a secret, but you don’t find out about it until the end of the book so I found it very slow at first.

The ending came as a surprise to me as I wasn’t expecting it. To stop the aunts arguing about inheritance the Liars decide to burn down one of the houses on the island. However it does not go to plan and Mirren, Johnny and Gat end up dead and it is not until the end of the book that this is revealed. All summer Cadence has been imagining that they are there and has been talking to them and this has helped her slowly remember what happened. I did not see the ending coming as I was made to believe that they were still alive because Cadence was talking to them. However after reading it I realised that it was hinted at. Cadence claimed to have sent emails and texts to the other Liars which they did not reply to because obviously they couldn’t. There are other hints in the book which suggest that the Liars are dead, but they are written in so subtly that it is quite difficult to pick up on them.

I found it really difficult to relate to the characters because the writing style was very choppy so I felt I didn’t get to know the characters as well as I would have liked to.

Overall I am glad I read this book because it has been hugely popular but I don’t see why it has been raved about so much. I think the plot has potential, to be really good but I really wasn’t a fan of the writing style and this did put me off the book. Overall I would give this book a 3 out of 5.

3 Stars

Have you read this book? What did you think?

Kirsty xxx

One thought on “We Were Liars by E. Lockhart Review

Leave a Reply

