Wrap Up

May Wrap Up 2015

Today I am sharing with you what books I have finished reading in May. I managed to read quite a few books this month as now that I am finished, university for the summer I have a lot more time to spend reading.

I Heart New York  (2)

I Heart New York by Lindsey Kelk

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 3.84

I thought this was quite a good chick lit novel. Angela goes to New York when she finds out her boyfriend is cheating on her. Angela gets to experience New York life and she meets two guys and she ends up having to decide which guy she wants, whilst there she also gets a job as a blogger. I enjoyed this book as it was a very quick read and I really enjoyed reading about New York. I have the other books in the series and I will continue to read this series.

The Fault In Our Stars (3)

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

My Rating: 5

Goodreads Rating: 4.38

I’ve had this book for ages and I put off reading it as I didn’t want to be disappointed by it. I was not disappointed though, I really enjoyed it. I thought the relationship between Hazel and Gus was really well written. This book managed to make me laugh and cry. If you haven’t read this book I recommend that you try it out as I can promise that you will enjoy it.

In The Woods (3)

In The Woods by Tana French

My Rating: 5

Goodreads Rating: 4.38

I came across a list on line that suggested books that you should read if you enjoyed the show How To Get Away With Murder. I thought the show was really good so I thought I would give some of the books a go. The first one I picked up was In The Woods by Tana French. This book is about a police officer whose friends disappeared when he was younger in the woods and he was the only one to return and now a murder has occurred in the same place. The story is a typical crime book and they look to find the murderer. I thought that it was very good and I couldn’t put it down and I stayed up late one night to finish it. I didn’t guess who had done it which I like as I don’t like it if it is too predictable. The only thing I have to complain about is that we never find out what happened to the children that disappeared. Tana French has written more books in this series which I will be reading eventually.

The Night Circus (2)

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

My Rating: 5

Goodreads Rating: 4.01

I heard a lot of positive things about this book and I am glad to say it did not disappoint. The descriptions in this book are amazing and I could really imagine how the circus would be. The story is about two magicians who are taking part in a game that they do not really understand. They find out that they must play the game until one of them dies but they fall in love and they longer want to play the game but they are bound to it so must continue. Overall I really enjoyed this book and I can’t wait to see what else the author will write.

Glass Houses (1)The Dead Girls Dance (3)Midnight Alley  (3)

Glass Houses by Rachel Caine

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 3.93

This is the first book in the Morganville Vampire series, I have had the first 10 books for a while as I picked them up in The Works. The series follows Claire who moves to Morganville for university but the town is full of vampires. Claire moves out of her dorm as some girls are bullying her, she moves in with Eve, Shane and Michael. I enjoyed this book and I will be carrying on with the series however there are 15 books in the series so I don’t know how far I will get with it.

The Dead Girls Dance by Rachel Caine

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 4.07

This is the second book in the Morganville Vampire series and I enjoyed this one as well. The town gets a bit crazy when Shane’s father a vampire hunter comes to town. Claire, Eve and Michael must try and stop him and save Shane from the vampires. Michael makes a deal with the head vampire Amelie to become a vampire and stop being the half human half ghost that he was. This book was full of action, I really enjoy the love story that is forming between Shane and Claire.

Midnight Alley by Rachel Caine

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 4.13

This is the third book in the Morganville Vampire series. When Claire pledges herself to one of the oldest vampires in town Amelie she begins having lessons with an old vampire who is going crazy. She discovers that the vampires are slowly dying and so far there isn’t a cure. Amelie hopes that Claire will be able to find a cure. I am still enjoying this series, although it is not my favourite and I don’t know whether I will read all the books but I plan to read at least the first 10 as I own them.

Little Earthquakes (1)

Little Earthquakes by Jennifer Weiner

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 3.75

This novel followed the lives of four women who had recently given birth. I enjoyed this book and I thought the characters were really well written as they were very realistic. It was a good quick read and I thought it was very good and I would be interested to read more by Jennifer Weiner.

Kirsty xxx

Leave a Reply

