Wrap Up

March Wrap Up 2015

Today I thought I would share with you the books I have finished this month and give a mini review of them telling you what I thought of them some of the reviews may contain spoilers.

Betrayal in the Tudor Court  (1)

Betrayal in the Tudor Court by Darcey Bonnette

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 3.76

I am a massive fan of historical fiction especially if it is set in the Tudor times. This is about a girl named Cecily whose parents died when she was very young. She is taken in by Pierces a wealthy family who intend for her to marry their son Brey. Cecily grows up with the Pierces and she is very happy there until the death of Brey and the death of Lord Hal’s wife Grace (although she isn’t actually dead). Cecily agrees to marry Lord Hal and at first they are very happy until she becomes attracted to Father Alec. I really enjoyed this story as it contains a lot of twists and although I don’t believe that Cecily was a real person it is based in one of my favourite time periods and there is accepts of the story that are based on reality. If you like Philippa Gregory novels then I recommend that you give this a read.

Mad About The Boy (2)

Mad About The Boy by Helen Fielding

My Rating: 3

Goodreads Rating: 3.28

This is the last novel in the Bridget Jones Diaries series. I have read the other two and wasn’t that impressed with them but I still wanted to finish the series. I have written a review of the first book which you can read here. This novel takes place years after the second one and Bridget is 50 now and has 2 kids. Bridget is still the same character, bumbling a long and struggling with being a single mother. I have mentioned in  the past that I find the character of Bridget very annoying. At 50 she is still very annoying. She seems to struggle with being a mother despite having a nanny who she relies on a lot. She can’t get out of bed on time to take them to school and she has a ‘job’ (I use the term loosely) which she struggles to do the work for. She starts a relationship with a much younger guy and like in the other books we see her acting like a little child worrying about silly things like why she hasn’t got a text why people aren’t following her on Twitter. I gave this book 3 stars I would have liked it if we had seen Bridget develop and grow up but this did not happen. I also think it was a shame that Fielding decided to kill off Mark Darcy as I would have liked to see their relationship develop.

The Nanny Diaries (2)

The Nanny Diaries by Nicola Kraus & Emma McLaughton

My Rating: 3

Goodreads Rating: 3.36

This novel is about a nanny who has a difficult relationship with her employee as she is taken for granted. Nan works for the wealthy X family who seem to have little interest in their son and all of the work is left to her. According to Goodreads this is a modern day Mary Poppins story. I haven’t actually read the Mary Poppins books but this is not a very good book.  The book first starts with making observations about the type of people who hire a nanny. The women are wealthy and have little interest in their children. I understand that there may be people like this but Mrs X was so annoying that I often wanted to slap her, she was more concerned with her own live than her sons. I also found Nan really annoying as she put up with all of the X’s bad treatment, I know it was her job but really she was doing so much work, getting little recognition and getting paid barely anything for her troubles. I gave this 3 stars as I liked the idea of the story but unfortunately the execution was not very good and I felt that the characters were pretty poor.

Ticker (4)

Ticker by Lisa Mantchev

My Rating: 3

Goodreads Rating: 3.43

I was given this book by my friend at Christmas and although it is not a book that I would initially have picked I was intrigued by the story idea. Penny has a rare heart condition and in order to save her she was given a ‘ticker’ which is basically a clockwork heart however the heart needs updating. The scientist has been locked up for murder but he escapes and kidnaps her parents and she must save them. This book is steampunk novel which is not a genre that I am familiar with. There were a lot of complex descriptions of machines and weapons which I wasn’t a massive fan of. I liked the idea for the story but I wasn’t too keen on the main character Penny I found her slightly annoying. She came off as being very rude especially to her friends I think that the author was trying to show that despite her condition she was trying to live her life as best as she could. I felt that she came across as rude and selfish but that is my personal opinion. Overall I thought that this book was ok I’m not sure if I will read anything else by this author though.

Before We Met (1)

Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 3.41

This is a mystery/ thriller novel and I really enjoyed it. The story follows Hannah who has married Mark but she knows very little about him and when he doesn’t come one night Hannah suspects he is having an affair but what she discovers is far worse. She finds out that Mark’s brother killed a girl and he took money from her account to pay off his brother. The plot twist is kind of predictable but I still enjoyed it.

Kirsty xxx

Leave a Reply

