Review

Betrayal in the Tudor Court by Darcey Bonnette Review

Betrayal in the Tudor Court  (1)

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 3.76

Published by: Avon

Pages: 400

Genre: History, Romance, Fiction

I am a big fan of historical fiction, I have read novels by a variety of different authors including Philippa Gregory and Anne O’Brien. One of my favourite periods is the Tudor period so I was very interested to try out this book. I picked it up in a charity shop as I liked the sound of it, I had never heard of the author so I didn’t know what to expect.

When Lady Cecily lost her parents she is sent to live with Lord Hal and his family. His family easily accept her into their home, she becomes quick friends with Brey. She gets on well with Mirabella, but Mirabella is focused on her religion and is devoted to Father Alec. Mirabella wants to become a nun but during Henry 8ths reign there is religious upheaval which prevents her from becoming a nun. Tragedy occurs at the household and Brey dies from an illness and Lord Hal’s wife ‘dies’ soon after. In order to protect Cecily, Lord Hal decides to marry her, and they have a happy life. However when Cecily becomes attracted to Father Alec it causes some problems and Mirabella who is jealous sets out to hurt them.

I really enjoyed this book. I thought that the development of the characters was very good and I wanted to find out what to happen to them. Whilst this is a work of fiction, the events that occurred in the book suited the time period. I thought this book was really well written and I would be interested in reading some other novels by the author as she seems to have written quite a few novels set in the Tudor period. I also really enjoyed that this story was about a different family, often many novels set in this time period are told through or about some of the most famous people of the time such as Henry 8th and Anne Boleyn so it was quite interesting to read about a different family and how the events at court affect them.

4 Stars

Kirsty xxx

Leave a Reply

