Review

Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse Review

Before We Met (1)

Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 3.41

Published By: Bloomsbury Paperbacks

Pages: 288

Genre: Mystery, Thriller

This book follows the story of Hannah who is married to Mark and they seem to have the perfect marriage. When Mark doesn’t come home and seems to be lying about where he is Hannah suspects he is having an affair but what she discovers is far more shocking.

I really enjoyed this book. At first it is a bit slow going as it describes flits between the past and present and talks about how the pair met when you really are more interested in what is happening in the present.

Once I had got into this book I couldn’t put it down as I wanted to know what happened. I want go into too much detail about the plot as it might spoil it if you haven’t read it but I will say that I expected the plot twist. After I got into the story I found that it was very quick paced but at first it is a bit slow. It is only 288 pages which isn’t very long but I feel it was the right length for this book as if it was any longer I think it would have got boring.

The character of Mark is very interesting and I think that he is quite a realistic character as you can imagine someone that tells so many lies and deceives people. Hannah  seems a bit naïve and I am surprised that she got married to a man that she knew very little about but then I suppose the story would not work if she knew everything about Mark.

Overall I did really enjoy this book and towards the end I couldn’t put it down. I really want to read Lucie Whitehouse’s other novels; The Bed I Made and The House and Midnight. If you are looking for a mystery that is quick to read then I recommend this. From what I’ve seen on line there are mixed opinions on whether the plot it predictable or not I thought it was but I guess it depends on whether you’ve read many other mystery books.

4 Stars

What did you think of this book?

Kirsty xxx

2 thoughts on “Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse Review

Leave a Reply

