Wrap Up

April Wrap Up 2015

Today I thought I would share with you the books I have finished this month and give a mini review of them telling you what I thought of them some of the reviews may contain spoilers.

This Charming Man (1)

This Charming Man by Marian Keyes

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 3.73

I really enjoyed this book. It was different to other Marian Keyes novels as it covered more ‘heavy’ topics such as domestic abuse and alcohol addiction. I think that this book portrayed in the topics in a very realistic way. I have written a full review of this where I go into more detail which you can read here.

Club Dead (2)

True Blood: Club Dead by Charlaine Harris

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 4.03

This is the third book in the Sookie Stakehouse series. I loved the TV show and I am now reading the books. I wish I had read these first as when I’m reading the books I keep thinking that’s not how the character should be but obviously the books came first. I enjoyed this book and the third season of the TV show is loosely based on this. So far the series has been really good but I think I might get fed up with it as I think there are 12 or 13 books so it might get a bit tedious. If you like vampire books this is a good series for you.

Wedding Night (1)

Wedding Night by Sophie Kinsella

My Rating: 5

Goodreads Rating: 3.34

I really enjoy Sophie Kinsella books and this one was no exception. When Lottie breaks up with her boyfriend Richard an old boyfriend rings her and they end up getting married. Her sister Fliss who is going for a divorce doesn’t want Lottie to make the same mistakes as she did so she will do anything to stop them getting married.

Persuasion (2)

Persuasion by Jane Austen

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 4.12

I read Pride and Prejudice a couple of years ago and whilst I did enjoy it I didn’t see what all the fuss was about. I much preferred Persuasion. Persuasion follows the story of Anne Elliot. Anne is in love with Captain Frederick Wentworth and she was going to marry him until her friend Lady Russell persuaded her not to as he was not worthy of her. When Anne’s father causes the family to be in debt they rent out their home to the Admiral and Mrs Croft who is Captain Wentworth’s sister. Anne hopes to see Captain Wentworth again although there are plans for her to marry her cousin Mr Elliot who is only interested as he wants to be the heir to the Kellynch baronetcy. When Captain Wentworth sees this he is jealous and he writes a letter to Anne and at the end of the book they become engaged. I really enjoyed this book as although it is a romance there are other themes in it which makes it very enjoyable. Austen is mocking the upper class throughout this novel which I found quite amusing.

Captain Ingrams Inheritance (1)

Captain Ingram’s Inheritance by Carola Dunn

My Rating: 4

Goodreads Rating: 3.62

When I started this I didn’t realise that it was part of a trilogy and it is the last one so the first few chapters were a bit confusing. At the start of the novel we meet Lady Constantia who is the daughter of an earl and her mother Lady Westwood wants her daughter to get married but Lady Constantia is scared because of a scar she has from a childhood accident. Her brother introduces her to Captain Frank Ingram who she falls in love, but she can’t be with him because her parents would not approve. Captain Ingram and his sister Fanny discover that they are related to a Duke and they have a large inheritance. Eventually, Connie and Captain end up together. The plot was quite predictable, but I didn’t mind that too much as the relationships between the characters were developed very well and although it was predictable it was good to see the characters falling for one another. I’m going to pick the other 2 books up from the trilogy so I can read them.

Kirsty xxx

Leave a Reply

