Review

All The Truth That’s In Me by Julie Berry Review

All The Truth That's In Me (2)

This is not a book that I would have picked out to read for myself, but I was lent it so I thought I would give it a try. 

What it says on Amazon

‘Judith can’t speak. Ever since the horrifying trauma that left her best friend dead and Judith without her tongue, she’s been a pariah in her close-knit community of Roswell Station; even her own mother won’t look her in the eye. All Judith can do is silently pour out her thoughts and feelings to the love of her life, the boy who’s owned her heart as long as she can remember – even if he doesn’t know it – her childhood friend, Lucas. But when Roswell Station is attacked by enemies, long-buried secrets come to light – the cruel become kind – and Judith’s world starts to shift on its axis. Before she knows it, Judith is forced to choose: continue to live in silence, or recover her voice, even if what she has to say might change her world and the lives around her, forever.’

This story is about a girl called Judith who was kidnapped with her friend. Her friend is killed by the kidnapper but Judith is set free but only after part of her tongue is cut out so that she can no longer talk. Everyone views her as a monster and stays away from her. Even her mother seems to resent her, the treatment she receives from her mother is quite shocking it seems as if her mother wishes she hadn’t come back.

I am not 100% sure what time period this book is set in, but it is set in the past in a small village which makes it seem as if it is set in Colonial America. The town is deeply religious and this plays a big part in the treatment of Judith.

What makes this book different from other books is that this is told in the 2nd person and Judith is telling her story to Lucas who is the boy she loves. At first I found the book quite difficult to get into and I think it was the 2nd person narration that put me off, but I am glad I stuck with it as I ended up really enjoying it. The character of Judith is very likeable and I ended up really caring about her and I wanted to find out the rest of her story. Despite Judith being unable to talk Julie Berry communicated her thoughts and feelings very well and I felt like I had a good understanding of Judith.

Many people treat Judith terribly, but there are a few people in the village who treat her well such as Maria. The 2 become very good friends and Maria encourages Judith to talk something her mother never encouraged. As Judith begins to talk again she becomes more confident in herself and it is great to see her grow.

Throughout the story, Berry drops hints as to what happened to Judith but we don’t find out the whole story until the end which kept me reading as I really wanted to know what happened to her. Her ending with Lucas is predictable, but I am glad that she got a happy ending.

Overall once I got into this book I really enjoyed it and I was glad I had read it. This book is aimed at Young Adults, but it is unlike any other YA book I have ever read. I definitely recommend that you read this book. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. If you want to see what I am currently reading, want to read and read then I suggest you follow me on Goodreads as I always update it.

4 Stars
Kirsty xxx
Leave a Reply

